ELF Studio Brushes Review

ELF Studio Brush Review

A couple months ago I decided to invest in a new set of makeup brushes.  After much deliberation, I decided to go with E.L.F brushes because they are very affordable and I had read good reviews on them online. I bought their Studio 11 Piece Brush collection, a Studio Stipple Brush and Studio Kabuki Brush.

On the whole all the brushes were very soft and do not shed, which is great! Also they wash easily and dry quickly so I’m pretty impressed with them. Saying this, there are certain brushes I’m not too fond of, so I thought I’d quickly review each brush separately.

11 Piece Brush Set £38.50
(It comes with a nice black case to store the brushes which is nice)

Eyeshadow “C” Brush

Eyeshadow "C" Brush
This is a nice dense eyeshadow brush that picks up a lot of colour. It’s very soft but I’m not love with it. The only problem is, it’s a little too wide, and if it was a millimetre or two thinner I think I’d prefer it.

Complexion Brush

ELF Complexion Brush
This is one of my favourite brushes in the set. It’s a nicely shaped fluffy brush, that’s great for setting powder.

Small Angled Brush

ELF Small Angled Brush
This little brush is perfect for filling in eyebrows. It has a sharp angle and the bristles are smooth. No complaints, Can also be used to apply eyeliner.

Small Smudge Brush

ELF Small Smudge Brush
This is a very small brush, I use it to blend harsh lines caused by eyeliner. It’s easy to use and has the perfect amount of flexibility to smudge lines without spreading the colour too far.

Fan Brush

ELF Fan Brush
I’m not the biggest fan of this brush. Out of all the brushes that come in the set, I use this one the least. Perhaps I don’t know how to use it properly, but I feel like it’s a little too thin for me. Occasionally I’ll use it to wipe excess powder under the eyes, but that’s about it.

Powder Brush

ELF Powder Brush
This brush has got a lot of nice reviews online, I like it and I do find that the flat end allows for even application. I haven’t used it much, but a lot of people use it with liquid foundation and say it gives an airbrushed effect.

Angled Foundation Brush

Flat Angled Foundation Brush ELF
Personally, I’m not a fan of any flat foundation brushes, so this doesn’t really do anything for me. However, I occasionally use it to apply darker foundation on areas that I’m trying to contour, so it can be handy.

Concealer Brush

ELF Concealer Brush
Love, Love, Love this brush! It’s small and thin and allows great coverage on problem areas. You need to use it with a cream concealer for best results because it’s too stiff for a liquid. It’s a good brush for when you have a certain area you’re trying to cover, like a small scar. I also use it to tidy up my eyebrows once filled. It’s great.

Small Precision Brush

ELF Small Precision Brush
This is a nice brush that can be used for a few different things, including applying gel liner or lipstick. I use it to apply lipstick and have no complaints; it’s small which enables me to get a perfect shape.  Very Handy.

Blush BrushELF Blush Brush
This is another brush which I absolutely love. It catches colour well and is a good size and shape for applying blush. However, I have noticed that a lot of people online use it to contour or highlight, but either way, it’s a nice brush.

Contour Brush

ELF Contour Brush
I’ve found that this brush picks up colour well but creates harsh lines. When contouring, I prefer a more subtle look, and this doesn’t blend enough for me, so I tend to avoid using it. However I think it’s nice to have a small brush on hand to contour your nose.

So that’s all the brushes within the 11 Piece Brush set, but I’ll just continue by quickly reviewing the Stipple Brush and Kabuki brush that I bought separately

Studio Stipple Brush £3.95


This brush is pretty different to the brushes in the set, it’s soft like the others, but the bristles are sparse, however, I still like it. The base is black and dense and the longer white bristles are where the foundation should be placed.  This allows for lightweight, bendable application, and I think this brush does just that.

Kabuki Brush £6.00


This brush is cute, thick and soft. I use it to apply powders and it is a nice brush to have on hand.

Overall E.L.F brushes are quality brushes that are affordable. Also, they regularly have offers running on their website. When I bought my brushes everything was half price, so keep an eye out for that. For a Link to E.L.F website click here.

I hope you found this review helpful. Have you ever used any E.L.F products? If yes, do you like them?

Ameera x

5 thoughts on “ELF Studio Brushes Review

    • Yea I tried the powder brush with liquid foundation yesterday and really liked the even coverage. However, I found because of it’s shape, it’s not that great for smaller areas like around the eyes.

      Aww what a shame about your brush, how long did u use it before it started to shed? Xxx

Leave a Reply

